The Perfect Stitched Trousers!

By Maasi Saba

PART 1

I’m in search of a pair, or few pairs, of trousers. Stitched nicely, material not see through, and comfortable to run around in after my toddler.  Being a mother of four, whose weight fluctuates often, I don’t have extra time to hop from shop to shop and find material at a reasonable price, shrink it, and then get it to my tailor for it to be given back about a week later. I’d like to just pick something up and wear it at my convenience. I remember buying pants in America, and most of them fitting nicely, as if they were made for my body type. Now, I feel they are loose in areas I don’t need them to be, and fitted in other areas where it looks unattractive. Just makes me feel even more lopsided than I hope I actually am.

I wish shops here would also make trousers in different lengths; regular, long, extra long, short. Wouldn’t it help their sales if these sizes were available? Don’t they know we all don’t look the same?! I’ve recently heard that the Pathan vendors at liberty are selling trousers in a cotton material for a cheap price. Stylish as well, with either buttons on the side, or some embroidery work. I must go there this weekend and do some shopping. Rupees 400 are nothing for a stitched piece of clothing to be worn for a season. My tailor doesn’t even take that little amount for anything. And these men are selling stitched trousers for that price!

I always get my trousers stitched. I like them to be long and not have my ankles show at all. I wear my pants below my bellybutton so I hate high waist pants. And I especially don’t like it when I’m in sujood, as I feel as if my butt is exposed because the pants are riding even lower now. Who models for these stitched trousers for the branded shops?  Do they not have butts or hips that need a bit of room?

IMG_0789

Recently, I bought a few pairs of pants from Khaadi. I bought the cuffed ones, thinking if they weren’t long enough, I’d unstitch the cuff part. Well, I had to not only unstitch the cuff, I had to unstitch it all and then turn it in once to get the length desired. It was annoying, but at least the material isn’t see through. But I also came across another problem with the stitching— the sujood problem. They didn’t feel different when I tried them on, but when I bent down for Salah, I was very uncomfortable and it was distracting. Thank goodness my shirts are long and cover my butt or God help the person who would have walked behind me. My daughter, who is skinny and tall, also complained of the pants being quite uncomfortable while praying. So it makes me wonder who cut the pattern for these trousers? I was very disappointed in Khaadi’s fitting as I am an avid buyer of their stitched and unstitched clothing, even their home items as well. But their pants were a disappointment. Please someone alter their patterns to fit the Pakistani woman.

I’m still in search of some decent pants. Where o where are you? I need lots of you!

Leave a Reply

