Straight From My Heart!

By Maasi Javeria

PJ-BS928_WORKFA_G_20140128172745

Massi Saba’s recent article proved to be a fresh breeze after a deathly routine of preparing my kid for his test. Both of us were tired and frustrated by the last day. Well, the time came when I had to go pick him up. I greeted him where he was standing in queue, his name got called, he came, and the first sentence he uttered was, “I got -10 for misbehaving”!! My jaw dropped and eyes were about to pop out, “Why? What happened let me ask your teacher?” I shouted.

He grabbed my hand and threatened,”No way”! But some how after 10 minutes of pulling and pushing I eventually managed to free myself from his grip. I went up to the teacher and asked about the actual scenario, which turned out to be OK! or so I thought.
BOOM !!!!
My son started jumping up and down,”You tricked me, you lied to me, I will never tell you any thing anymore, I will never trust you”… And so on and so forth. He kept jumping in the car, still in a very aggressive mood. I tried to apologise but to no avail. He started tearing the tissue box, his school card, his pencil box etc. Tears were rolling down his pink cheeks like a shower, but I just sat there, still like a rock.
“You are the worst mom in this whole world, I have the worst family, I don’t want this family, I want new mom, I want to be dead, I will go home and be dead (God Forbid), I want you dead, I don’t want to see any body…”
Now the real question at that moment was whether his reaction was just because of the reason that I talked to his teacher OR because of the pressure both mother and child have to go through right before the exams!
I think my little angel just couldn’t take it any more. I sat in the car doing nothing but apologising while at the same time he kept on tearing any thing which he could see in car, including my cream, emptying it in my palm and then he said, “how does it feel? Bad na?”
And I said, “yes darling bad but if it makes you feel better, it’s worth it.” 20 minutes passed and and those eyes were red like anything. And then he sat silently exhausted and betrayed. He said, “this is the last time I am taking your sorry.” And I asked his permission, “can I hug you dear?” To which he nodded, and every thing was alright once again. Nothing was damaged, rather our relationship became stronger!!
Sometimes we need to give kids an out let as well. Let them express themselves fully when they can’t handle it any more, let them burst out, let them say any thing, let them feel free. Help them by not shouting at them and listen to them silently and with great patience. Your time will come and it would be worth ten times this universe.
Happy relationships, where only giving is allowed not expecting 😍😍😍😍

Leave a Reply

