Going Bananas!

By Maasi Saba

I make this delicious and easy banana cake for my kids every few weeks. With the warm weather upon us, bananas, as well as many other fruits start to go soft after a few days.  This cake is best with bananas that are soft but not spoiled.  It’s a tried and tested recipe I found on the internet, but I can’t seem to find the exact site anymore.

Here is the recipe:
150g butter (I use nurpur 200g, and cut in half, and cut the half remaining as well to = 150g)
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup milk
1 cup mashed bananas (this is about 3 bananas depending on the size)
1/4 cup chocolate chips (more or less if desired)

* Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius
* Melt butter, add sugar, eggs and vanilla essence and mix well with a beater

d46ca14077bf61a93b6ab902eaa29f3a-1
* Sift flour, baking soda, and baking powder on top of melted ingredients
* Mix carefully, and then slowly add milk. mix well.
* Mix mashed bananas.
* If you want, you can add some chocolate chips.
d0838699fbcbd2757f9b50c1abcf987a-1
* Pour mixture in a well greased and lined pan.
* Bake for 30-40 minutes at 180 degrees.

a8216c05b10c04f391ec3d9b383eed9f-1
So this was what was left of it. It was scrumptious!

The original recipe was called something like “Busy Woman’s Banana Cake.”  That is all i had copied a few years back. In the original recipe, it stated to melt butter in a pot on the stove and then add sugar.  Then to turn the stove off and add the eggs and mix.  Well, the first 2 times i made it well.  I remembered to wait until it cooked a bit before I added the eggs.  Then, the next two times I didn’t.  Usually, when my children find out I am baking they all come and beg to help. Then I have to designate some easy steps so they feel like they are contributing.  But then they would start distracting me, and I lose my senses.  So two times I actually messed up the second stage by adding eggs into the hot butter and sugar mixture.  After that, I decided to either let it melt at room temperature (which is pretty easy to do these days), or in the microwave.  I follow all the steps as I have stated.  For those who have never made this cake, there are 2 cups of flour so when you are mixing it together, it gets quite thick.  My arm hurts by the time I finish hand beat everything. I usually use an electric beater to just mix butter, sugar and eggs, the dry items are then folded in by hand.  Remember to slowly add the milk or it will splatter all over the counter and yourself.  My kids and I love the the taste of bananas and chocolate so that is why we add some chips to the mixture.  I had taken a few pics so you could see the different consistency of the cake batter at each stage. I was going to also take a pic of the finished cake, but I am sorry that was not possible.  By the time I remembered to, it was already eaten.  So, very sorry for that.  I guess you will have to make it to see the results yourself.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

