Recipe: Jalapeño Poppers

A couple of days back I was having a little chit chat with Maasi Saba and well, the subject of Iftari came up, which usually is the most popular topic of discussion in our households during Ramadan. I wanted to make something simple but different and voila! She recommended this amazing jalapeño poppers recipe, which I made as soon as i could and was an instant hit in my family!!

Read the recipe in her own words and discover for yourself, these scrumptious little jalapeño poppers. And do try, I’m sure your kids will love you for this!

— Maasi Wajo

IMG_1822

By Maasi Saba

All day long, you think of what you would like for Iftar. You go through the list like a routine. Pakoras? What kind of pakoras? Fruit chaat, dahi bharray, dahi pakoria, chinese rolls, sesame chicken on toast, kebabs, shami kebabs, etc. But as the time rolls on, going into the kitchen is like jumping over a hurdle. But, alas, we still go in, and we prepare Iftar for our loved ones. We try to make it tasty and interesting. (But there is always one person who is not happy.) We make different drinks, different types of milk drinks, and have an assortment of dates on the table. We also put out all the sauces, ketchups, and chutneys we have in the house to make the food more interesting. I hope our families will be happy with our effort.

Trying to make different things for Iftar isn’t easy. Sometimes our efforts backfire and everyone looks at the dish and then our faces thinking, “What is that supposed to be!” I think we all have those bad days. Those days I wish I had someone else doing the work in the kitchen!

Today, we have a quick and easy recipe to share with you. I have been making this for a few years and my family loves it. Well, minus my younger two who don’t like jalapeños. In the U.S., my mom would buy jalapeño poppers from Costco and we would devour them before we sat down at the table. They were delicious! They made them using whole jalapeños stuffed with cheddar cheese! YUM! You can’t find them here, and you can’t use cheddar cheese either. That particular cheese here is a bit in the oily side and it will just lose its shape n become mush. My mom tried making it with cheddar and mozzarella cheese and they opening while she was frying them.

IMG_1803

For this recipe, you will need to buy fresh cottage cheese, a bottle of jalapeño slices, egg, flour (optional) and bread crumbs for coating. 

PicCollage

 I took about 3-4 heaping spoonfuls of jalapeños, drained and roughly sliced them.

PicCollage

I have a family of eight members all under our roof so I used two cottage cheese and crumbled it up with my hands at first and then a fork.

IMG_1814

I mixed the two by hand and was able to shape them into small little croquet shaped balls. I had to put them in the fridge for an hour because that day it was particular hot, and my own sweaty hands were ruining the shape.
IMG_1940

After 2 hours, I dipped them in a well beaten egg and coated then with breadcrumbs. (You can add flour as well if you like). I froze mine immediately for later use.

FullSizeRender

When frying, make sure the fire is not on low or they will open up before they are golden brown.

IMG_1817

Jalapeños give it the right tangy and spicey taste! These jalapeño poppers are very tasty. Now you will have to adjust to your liking the amount of jalapeños added. I didn’t add any seasoning, but you can if you want.

Leave a Reply

