Shopping Day!

By Maasi Saba

A couple of weeks before Eid, I was able to go to a trunk show by Ummaima Mustafa.  She is a Karachi based designer whose style I really liked. I had been following her for several months on FB and Instagram, and was disappointed to learn that they didn’t take orders out of Karachi.  I was so depressed. So I had gotten in touch with a relative living in the city, and badgered her to go and have a look at her clothes. Were they as nice as they looked in the pictures, because usually, looks are deceiving. You see some designers’ pictures of work and think. “Wow! I think I’m in love! I have to have that!” (You know you have had those moments many times, don’t be shy). Since she was busy moving, she wasn’t able to check out the boutique, but luckily for Instagram, I found out that they were having another trunk show at Nishat Hotel and this was my chance.

I dragged a friend to go with me. Sometimes, you are so obsessed with certain items, you can overlook the flaws, so I needed help. I wasn’t sure that the cape that I wanted was actually worth it. We get to the trunk show and many women are already there. It looked very nice. We both felt out of place with everyone dressed to impress, and here we looked like loser mothers. I immediately saw the jacket/cape that I wanted and grabbed it. There was another one I liked, but my friend said that white wouldn’t look so good on my abaya. (That’s how I wanted to wear this item. On top of my abaya as a jacket to change the look a bit.) There were some ladies who were eyeing me, so I clutched my cape tighter and walked to the side to try it on. There wasn’t any full-length mirror near us so I asked my friend to see if I would look good in it. And she said yes! That made me smile, and smile big. The material wasn’t what I was expecting, but it was cute with tassels and a chain going around. The color was nice as well. But there were two other women who were holding onto a printed cape, and I so wanted to try it on. We both were waiting around for someone to put it back, but no, not while we were there. We also were too shy to ask if there were other pieces available in that style.  They weren’t adding any new items to the racks, and most of the racks were bare when we got there. So I tried the jacket on, and my friend said to get it. And I did. I also bought a dress that I saw. It was also cute. And I loved the fact that they were giving sleeves for those who wanted to add it. Which I will once I get the material for its lining.  Everyone who has seen the dress hanging in my closest wants it, and I just laugh it off. Well, I can’t possibly give my new thing to someone before wearing it myself. 

6f91f959a1411c2d721b6f7e05853be8At home, I tried the cape on and it was irritating me. It’s some imported linen material, which gives the cape structure, but I guess it’s too hot for me to wear it yet. I’m also having a bit of a problem dealing with the hooks at the ends. You see, it’s a long cape, and the designer has added hooks to bring up the corners however I want it to look. It looked so simple when she was explaining it to me. But now that I look at it, and I have tried it on many, many, times in my bathroom, I’m confused. And to tell you the truth, no one really liked the cape. So I keep thinking, maybe I wasted my money on impulse shopping again. (I’ll admit it, it happens at times with me). Or maybe one would call it obsessive shopping, since I have been obsessed over it for a while now and just had to have it. Either way, I own it now. I will figure out what the heck to do with the bottom.  On Instagram later that day, I saw the model Mehreen Syed wearing the same one in black. And she looked perfect! Models! Hmm, I will have to study that picture or wear really high heels because two ends are dragging on the floor when I wear them.  Something needs to be changed, I’ll figure it out eventually. 

 But the dress, its adorable.  I found a pic of someone wearing it and I’ve included that because I cannot wear it yet. I need to attach sleeves with lining before that is possible. But I do have a scarf that goes so well with it. I’m excited. Let’s just hope I get it to the tailor in time before another function, or I’ll miss out on wearing it again and again. 

BTW, my friend and I were wondering on the car ride there what the different was between a trunk show and an exhibition. When I sat down to write this blog, I decided to do some research online. Here is what I found:

A trunk show is an event in which vendors present merchandise directly to store personnel or customers at a retail location or another venue such as a hotel room. In many cases it allows store personnel to preview and/or purchase merchandise before it is made available to the public. (By Wikipedia)

An exhibition, in the most general sense, is an organized presentation and display of a selection of items. In practice, exhibitions usually occur within museums, galleries and exhibition halls, and World’s Fairs. (By Wikipedia)

To me, when it comes to our clothing exhibitions, they both seem the same, no? Maybe it’s the new way of stating an exhibition because up until recently, everyone was having exhibitions, with or without taking orders. Now its all about trunk shows. 

 Do check out Ummaima Mustafa’s designs. I like them. I wish she was around when I was still in high school because some of the things she is making now, were things I wanted my mom to get made for us from here, but alas, all good things come on their own pace.  Better late than never.  

Leave a Reply

